Thame-Oxfordshire is a market town located approximately 48 miles northwest of London by rail. It gets its name from the mighty Thames River that flows past its northern boundaries and its history stretches back to Saxon times when Thame Abbey was built in 1138.
A church was built as a dedication to St. Mary the Virgin in 1220 and the town of Thame grew up around it. Eight bells cast in 1876 remain arranged in a ring in the church tower.
The chapel at Prebendal House was built in 1250 and still stands in Thame today. The solar was erected the following century and it, too, has survived into modern times.
Built in 1569, the Grammar School was originally located next to the almshouses on Church Lane and remained there until 1880 when it was moved to its current Oxford Road, Thame location. The name was changed in 1971 to Lord Williams School in honour of its founder courtier John Williams.
Among the most famous inhabitants was John Hampden, who attended the Grammar School and was mortally wounded in the Battle of Chalgrove Field during the English Civil War. He managed to make his way back to Thame but succumbed to his wounds at Greyhound Inn. There is a primary school in town that bears his name and an interior wall of the Greyhound Inn can be seen today.
There are a great many walking and cycling paths throughout the area Thame and nearby is the Cuttle Brook Nature Reserve named after a tributary of the river that meanders through it. There you will find thirty acres of woodland, mixed meadows and scrubland to explore.
By ancient decree, market day is held every Tuesday on High Street, Thame, which is shaped like a boat with an entrance at either end. Many of the buildings there were resurfaced during the 18th century with salt glazed bricks that were manufactured locally.